St Thomas' Anglican Church

Convict built church commenced 1824, also surgeon's dispensary (now chapel) and surgeon's residence both built between 1821 and 1823. All furnishings of cedar, including box pews. Several items dating from early 1800's others from 1824 onwards. Church hill oldest site in Port Macquarie. Grave of Captain Rolland under front N.E. box pew (first supervisor of convicts building the church). An exquisite open string spiral cedar staircase in tower. There are many unusual (because of age mostly) and beautiful objects in our church, perhaps the most outstanding is the stained glass window of St Thomas installed 1906. The high pulpit with winding staircase said to be worth a king's ransom; also a clarionet in the muniments room which is quite unique, being made of wood in Stuggart before 1800.

Address: 
Cnr Hay and William Streets, Port Macquarie, NSW
Tel: 
0265841033
Hours: 
9.30am to 12noon and 2pm to 4pm weekdays (unless funeral or wedding)
Admission: 
By donation
Facilities: 
Wheelchair access, guided tours, brochure available
Collection: 
Early church (1860), ground plans of church, convict memorabilia, musical instruments; historic furniture, photographs of early vicars, letters from and to early dignitaries, etc.
Share

Items

Musical Instrument

Seraphine

Creator:
Alexandre Pere et Fils, Paris
Description:
An early form of Harmonium made in 1838. Five octave keyboard and 2 foot pump pedals.
Date:
C.1840

Sold in 1855 to fund the purchase of the walker pipe organ but subsequently donated back to St Thomas' church.

Pulpit

Cedar, spiral staircase

Description:
Very high, moveable, door to platform
Date:
1844

Built high to give vision to congregation in box pews. Pulpit and staircase crafted from local cedar.

Pews

Cedar Box

Creator:
Unknown
Description:
Box pews in quadrants. 5ft high, each different dimensions according to size of family owning or renting.